Unanimous: Indians Shane Bieber wins AL Cy Young Award

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CLEVELAND (WJW)– Cleveland Indians pitcher Shane Bieber won the American League Cy Young Award on Wednesday.

Bieber, 25, unanimously beat out Minnesota’s Kenta Maeda and Toronto’s Hyun Jin Ryu to take home the award. Former Indians pitcher and current Cincinnati Red Trevor Bauer won the NL Cy Young.

The Tribe ace dominated during the coronavirus-shortened season and was the favorite for the Cy Young. He had eight wins, a 1.63 ERA, 122 strikeouts and a .87 WHIP.

Bieber is the first pitcher since 2006 to win MLB’s pitching Triple Crown and just the ninth in league history to accomplish the feat. He’s also the first in Tribe history. Bieber and Bob Feller are the only two Cleveland pitchers to win the AL Triple Crown.

Last year, Bieber was the All-Star Game MVP and finished fourth in Cy Young voting.

The latest headlines from FOX8.com:

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Around the Buckeye State

More Ohio News
FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Happening Headlines:

More News

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral