State football playoffs: Archbishop Hoban, Canton Central Catholic, Warren JFK bring home the championships

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

COLUMBUS, OH -Three northeast Ohio high school football teams entered Championship Saturday in Columbus looking for that coveted state title.

In Division III, the defending champ Akron Archbishop Hoban Knights took on Trotwood-Madison in a rematch from last year.

Akron Hoban scored first when Todd Sibley ran 49 yards for a touchdown. The 2-point conversion wasn’t good, making the score 6-0. They added to their lead in the second quarter when Danny Clark passed to Caden Clark for a 10-yard touchdown, making it 13-0 Knights.

The Knights continued to dominate the game, ending with a back to back state championship win 30-0.

In Division 7, Warren JFK took on Minster in their title game, going into the fourth quarter with a 17-6 lead.  One more touchdown brought the score to 24-6, which at the final, gave the Eagles their second state championship and their first since 1991.

Jack Murphy threw a 55-yard touchdown pass to Tee Rupp with 58 seconds left to spur Canton Central Catholic to a 16-13 win over Coldwater in the state Division V championship game Saturday night.

Central Catholic (11-3) beat Coldwater in the title game for the first time in three years and broke the Cavalier’s string of four straight state championships.

Coldwater (13-2) had rallied in the fourth quarter and went ahead 13-9 on a 4-yard touchdown run by quarterback Dylan Thobe before Central Catholic’s late score.

A last gasp Thobe pass into the end zone was intercepted by the Crusaders’ Brady Thompson as time expired.

Central Catholic’s Dan Mills broke a state Division V record when he kicked a 48-yard field goal at the end of the first half.

Ohio Stadium hosted the state championships for the third-straight year before the finals move back to Canton and the new Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium (formerly called Fawcett Stadium) in 2017 and 2018. All seven title games will be in Canton once the new facility opens.

Around the Buckeye State

More Ohio News
FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral