Ohio State’s Ryan Day, Chase Young earn top Big Ten honors


Head coach Ryan Day of the Ohio State Buckeyes celebrates a 56-27 win over the Michigan Wolverines at Michigan Stadium on November 30, 2019 in Ann Arbor, Michigan. (Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WJW)– The Ohio State Buckeyes are kicking off awards season with a few Big Ten honors.

Head coach Ryan Day was recognized as Big Ten Coach of the Year on Tuesday. He becomes the first OSU coach to receive the award since Earle Bruce in 1979.

The voting media named Day the Dave McLain Coach of the Year and Minnesota’s P.J. Fleck was named the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year. It’s the fifth time in 19 years two coaches split coach of the year honors.

Defensive end Chase Young also brought home some hardware with Big Ten’s Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year and Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Ohio State had four players earn first team All-Big Ten honors: Young, LB Malik Harrison, SAF Jordan Fuller and CB Jeff Okudah.

More Big Ten selections will be announced Wednesday evening.

More stories on Ohio State football here

FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral

continue reading override