MAC Names Coach and Player of Year


Basketball on basketball court, elevated view

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Today the Mid-American Conference announced that Eastern Michigan’s Rob Murphy and Buffalo’s Mitchell Watt have earned top honors for the 2011-12 men’s basketball season.

Watt was named Player of Year, while Murphy was tabbed Coach of the Year in just his first season at the helm for the Eagles. The Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards were voted on by a 24-member MAC News Media Association panel.

In a Player of the Year race where four different student-athletes garnered votes – Watt grabbed a total of 11. Miami’s Julian Mavunga received eight votes and finished second, while Toledo’s Rian Pearson garnered three votes and finished third. Ohio’s D.J. Cooper rounded out the voting this season with two votes.

Coach of the Year voting was extremely close this season and EMU’s Murphy edged Akron’s Keith Dambrot by just two votes. Murphy picked up 12 votes from the media, while Dambrot garnered ten. Buffalo’s Reggie Witherspoon rounded out the voting and received two votes.

The MAC Tourney takes place this week at Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland. First round action is on campus at for sites Monday, with the next round at the Q.

FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral

continue reading override