Kansas City Chiefs top Cleveland Browns 22-17 in AFC Divisional round


KANSAS CITY (WJW)– The Cleveland Browns fell to the Kansas City Chiefs, 17-22, in the AFC Divisional Round on Sunday.

Game updates:

The Browns won the toss and deferred to the second half. The Chiefs drove down the field and then the former NFL MVP Patrick Mahomes ran it in for a touchdown. The extra point was no good.

Browns tight end David Njoku started the possession with a 27-yard gain. Fellow tight end Austin Hooper picked up the next first down. The Chiefs sacked Baker Mayfield for a huge loss, setting up a third and long. The Browns completed the drive with a field goal from Cody Parkey.

Cleveland native Travis Kelce delivered the next blow to the Browns with a touchdown. This time, the point after was good, making the score 13-3. The Chiefs later got a field goal.

The Browns were driving down the field with under 2 minutes in the half when Rashard Higgins caught a pass and reached for the end zone. He fumbled it resulting in a touchback and the Chiefs ball when he was just inches from a touchdown. The Chiefs got a field goal.

The Browns started the second half with the ball, but Mayfield threw an interception. Kansas City was unable to capitalize and missed the field goal, keeping the score 19-3.

A few big runs from running back Nick Chubb put the Browns within striking distance. Baker found Jarvis Landry for the TD.

Mahomes went to the locker room with a possible concussion, but the Chiefs were still able to get into field goal range. The score is 22-10. Mahomes is out for the rest of the game with a concussion.

Baker led the Browns on an 18-play drive down the field with a big catch for Austin Hooper and topped off by a Kareem Hunt TD.

Browns safety Karl Joseph picked off Chad Henne in the end zone.

The Browns failed to get a stop against the Chiefs, allowing time to expire. The final score was 22-17, Chiefs.



  • #18 WR Marvin Hall
  • #25 CB Brian Allen
  • #35 S Jovante Moffatt
  • #60 T Alex Taylor
  • #83 WR Alexander Hollins
  • #86 TE Kyle Markway
  • #91 DE Joe Jackson

Playoff captains:

  • #6 QB Baker Mayfield
  • #47 LS Charley Hughlett
  • #95 DE Myles Garrett

Click here to get caught up on the latest headlines

Around the Buckeye State

More Ohio News
FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Happening Headlines:

More News

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral

continue reading override