Snow emergencies issued as winter weather rolls across Northeast Ohio


**UPDATE: As of Saturday morning, the previously issued snow emergencies have been canceled.

CLEVELAND (WJW) — Snow emergencies are in effect as Mother Nature has brought a winter blast to Northeast Ohio.

The following counties have issued snow emergencies:

  • Erie County – Level 1
  • Huron County – Level 2
  • Ottawa County – Level 2
  • Sandusky County – Level 2
  • Ashland – Level 1
  • Richland – Level 1

There are three levels of snow emergencies. Here is what that means, according to the Ohio Committee for Severe Weather Awareness:

  • LEVEL 1: Roadways are hazardous with blowing and drifting snow. Roads may also be icy. Drivers are urged to drive very cautiously.
  • LEVEL 2: Roadways are hazardous with blowing and drifting snow. Roads may also be very icy. Only those who feel it is necessary to drive should be out on the roads. Contact your employer to see if you should report to work. Drivers should use extreme caution.
  • LEVEL 3: All roadways are closed to non-emergency personnel. No one should be driving during these conditions unless it is absolutely necessary to travel or a personal emergency exists. All employees should contact their employer to see if they should report to work. Those traveling on the roads may subject themselves to arrest.

*Click here to get list of closings as they come in*

*Click here to sign up for closing text alerts*

**Click here for the snow day calculator**

**Click here to follow the latest weather updates**

Continuing coverage, here.

Around the Buckeye State

More Ohio News


FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral