Ohio Names New 70 MPH Speed Zones


(Photo credit: Thinkstock)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

COLUMBUS — The Ohio Department of Transportation announced six locations along interstate highways where drivers will be permitted to drive 70 mph beginning this summer.

The legislation permits speeds to increase from 65 to 70 mph on the designated interstates that are “outside urbanized areas.”

The following interstates will be affected:

  • Interstate 70 from the Indiana border in the west to just outside of Wheeling, WV in the east, excluding Dayton, Columbus and Zanesville
  • Interstate 71 from the Jeremiah Morrow Bridge in southwest Ohio to just south of the border of the Cuyahoga/Medina County line in the north, excluding Columbus
  • Interstate 75 from just outside of Toledo going south until just north of Dayton, excluding Findlay and Lima
  • Interstate 76 from just outside Akron going east to just west of Youngstown
  • Interstate 77 from just outside of Canton south to the West Virginia border
  • Interstate 90 from just outside of Cleveland to the Pennsylvania border


FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral

Download the FOX 8 weather app