Nominees announced for 2016 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CLEVELAND, Ohio — The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced the nominees for the 2016 induction.

To be eligible, an individual artists or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years before the year of nomination. That means 2016 nominees had to release their first recording no later than 1990.

The nominees are:

  • Chicago
  • Cheap Trick
  • Deep Purple
  • The Cars
  • Chaka Khan
  • Chic
  • The J.B.’s
  • Janet Jackson
  • Los Lobos
  • Steve Miller
  • N.W.A.
  • Nine Inch Nails
  • The Smiths
  • The Spinners
  • Yes

Over the next two months, fans will have the opportunity to participate in the induction selection process. Fans can visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame website to cast votes for the artist or group they think deserves to be inducted into the Rock Hall. The top five artists will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2016 inductees.

The 2016 inductees will be announced in December.

The 2016 induction ceremony will be held in New York City in April.

To read more about the nominees or to cast your ballot, click here.

Join our Facebook conversation:

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral