New Illinois law bans smoking in vehicles with anyone under 18

News
This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SPRINGFIELD, Illinois – Starting in 2020, it is illegal to smoke in a car with anyone under the age of 18 in Illinois.

Illinois Governor JB Pritzker signed the legislation Friday.

Anyone who violates the new law will receive a maximum fine of $100 for the first offense. The second offense is not to exceed $250.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral