Moody Blues, Eurythmics, Radiohead among 2018 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction nominees

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

The nominees for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame have been released.

The list is:

  • Bon Jovi
  • Kate Bush
  • The Cars
  • Depeche Mode
  • Dire Straits
  • Eurythmics
  • Geils Band
  • Judas Priest
  • LL Cool J
  • MC5
  • The Meters
  • Moody Blues
  • Radiohead
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  • Nina Simone
  • Sister Rosetta Tharpe
  • Link Wray
  • The Zombies

According to a release from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, to be eligible for nomination, an artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of induction. They had to release their first official recording no later than 1992.

Nine out of this year's 19 nominees are on the ballot for the first time. Those include:  Eurythmics, Dire Straits, Judas Priest, Kate Bush, The Moody Blues, Nina Simone, Radiohead, Rage Against Machine and Sister Rosetta Tharpe.

Ballots will be sent to an international voting body of more than 900 artists, historians and members of the music industry.

The Rock Hall will again give fans the opportunity to participate in the selection process.

Starting Oct. 5 through Dec. 5, fans can cast votes for who they believe should be inducted by clicking here. The top five artists selected by the public will comprise a fans ballot that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2018 inductees.

The official 2018 inductees will be announced in December 2017. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductions will be held at Public Auditorium in Cleveland.

FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral