Indians Naquin third in AL Rookie of the Year voting; Detroit’s Fulmer takes top honors


Tyler Naquin #30 of the Cleveland Indians hits a single in the second inning during MLB game action against the Toronto Blue Jays on July 1, 2016 at Rogers Centre in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. (Photo by Tom Szczerbowski/Getty Images)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CLEVELAND – Tyler Naquin, Indians outfielder, came in third in the voting for 2016 American League Rookie of the Year it was announced Monday on MLB Network.

Los Angeles Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager is the unanimous winner of the NL Rookie of the Year award, and Detroit right-hander Michael Fulmer beat out New York Yankees catcher Gary Sanchez for the AL honor.

Seager is the 17th Dodgers player to earn Rookie of the Year honors — easily the most of any team — but the franchise hadn’t had a winner since Todd Hollandsworth in 1996. Seager hit .308 with 26 home runs and 72 RBIs this year.

Fulmer went 11-7 with a 3.06 ERA, establishing himself as a Rookie of the Year candidate early on and holding off a late challenge from Sanchez. Fulmer received 26 of 30 first-place votes from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Around the Buckeye State

More Ohio News
FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Happening Headlines:

More News

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral

continue reading override