All three of Ohio’s coronavirus cases from Cuyahoga County, governor says

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WJW)– Three people in Ohio have tested positive for coronavirus, Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine said on Monday.

He also declared a state of emergency. All three people are from Cuyahoga County, the governor said.

“The state of emergency that I’ve declared in Ohio is a legal necessity that allows state departments and agencies to better coordinate in their response,” DeWine said. The governor’s officer said the state of emergency allows state departments and agencies to better coordinate their response.

Cuyahoga County Board of Health Commissioner Terry Allan said the three patients, who are ages 54 to 56, are isolated. Two of them were on a trip to Egypt and one was at a conference in Washington D.C. Six additional people who had close contact are also on home quarantine.

There are five people under investigation for the virus, the Ohio Department of Health said. Health Director Dr. Amy Acton said you will be notified if you’ve had contact with an infected person.

Novel coronavirus, also called COVID-19, emerged in Wuhan City, China in December. Symptoms include fever, cough and shortness of breath.

Anyone with questions about the virus can call the Ohio Department of Health hotline at 1-833-4-ASK-ODH.

The latest information from the Ohio Department of Health on coronavirus here

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral