Ohio removed from New York’s coronavirus travel advisory list

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Editor’s Note: The video above is from Gov. DeWine’s press conference on 9/15/2020.

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WJW) – Ohio has dropped off New York’s coronavirus travel advisory list just a few days after it was added for the second time since the beginning of the pandemic.

New York requires people from states on its advisory list to fill out a traveler’s form when they arrive in the state.

The New York advisory states the list is based on a “seven day rolling average of positive tests in excess of 10% or number of positive cases exceeding 10 per 100,000 residents.”

Thirty states are on the list.

Ohio has four states on its travel advisory list.

Ohio puts any state with a coronavirus positivity rate over 15% on the list.

Currently, North Dakota, South Dakota, Kansas, and Alabama are on Ohio’s advisory list.

The list is updated Wednesdays at 2 p.m.

The Ohio Department of Health lists the state’s coronavirus positivity rate as 4%.

Ohio remains on Washington, D.C.’s travel advisory list, although their site does not explain what parameters it uses when adding states to the list.

Here are the latest headlines from FOX 8

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Download the FOX 8 weather app