This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CLEVELAND (WJW)– While Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine and the Ohio Department of Health issued mask mandates for counties in Level 3 and Level 4 of the Public Health Advisory Alert System, which determines risk of coronavirus, some cities have issued their own ordinances.

Under the governor’s order: Athens, Allen, Butler, Cuyahoga, Clermont, Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Hamilton, Licking, Lorain, Lucas, Montgomery, Pickaway, Richland, Scioto Summit, Union and Wood counties.

Below are some Ohio cities where masks are required:

Akron City Council passed an ordinance requiring masks in public by a vote of 11-0.


Beachwood City Council approved a mandate requiring face coverings in indoor areas accessible to the public.

The Columbus suburb mask policy went into effect Friday, July 3.
The order requires face coverings in public spaces.

Mayor John Cranley says he supports a mask mandate.
The city council will vote on a measure Friday, July 3.

Cleveland Mayor Frank Jackson on Friday night made masks mandatory in the city.
Cuyahoga County is among several counties in the state deemed a Level 3 for risk, meaning that there is a very high spread and exposure of coronavirus in the area. Cuyahoga County Executive Armond Budish is planning to introduce similar legislation Tuesday.

Mayor Andrew Ginther signed an executive order requiring masks in public spaces starting Friday, July 3rd.
There are exceptions for people under 6 and people with a medical condition.

Dayton’s mask requirement order went into effect Friday, July 3 at 8 a.m.
The Dayton City Commission passed the emergency order this week.


Masks are required in indoor areas accessible to the public and in outdoor areas accessible to the public, if physical distancing of at least 6 feet of separation is not possible.

Yellow Springs
Yellow Springs, a village east of Dayton was actually the first city in Ohio to require masks. They began requiring them back in June.