Cell Phone Ban Could Fine Drivers Up to $500

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

CLEVELAND -- Cleveland City Council is focusing on the writing of a new law to ban the use of cell phones behind the wheel. Specifically, handheld use.

They want to make it a primary offense, so if a police officer sees you talking on a cell phone – and sees a laptop, tablet or phone in your hand – they can pull you over no questions asked. The plan to make it a primary offense is still in the talking stages, but council is aiming to have motorists pay $100 for a first offense, $250 for the second and $500 for third offenses.

No points would be added to your license on your first offense.

Most Clevelanders Fox 8 spoke to today said they don’t mind the idea, they just believe enforcement will be an issue.

Ohio’s texting ban will take effect in March 2013. As a secondary offense, that means motorists have to be pulled over for something else to be given a fine for cell phone use.  Cleveland City Council would like to have the local cell phone ban in place by then.

California has a similar cell phone ban in place and in the past two years, road fatalities have dropped by 22 percent.

Around the Buckeye State

More Ohio News
FOX 8 Cleveland Weather // Quick Links:

Hot on FOX 8

More Viral