Ohio State wins second straight Big Ten Championship title

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA - DECEMBER 01: Terry McLaurin #83 of the Ohio State Buckeyes celebrates a touchdown in the first quarter against the Northwestern Wildcats at Lucas Oil Stadium on December 01, 2018 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images)

INDIANAPOLIS — No. 6 Ohio State earned a back-to-back Big Ten Championship title after defeating No. 21 Northwestern Saturday night, 45-24.

The Buckeyes and Wildcats kicked off at Lucas Oil Field in Indianapolis at 8 p.m. on FOX 8.

Ohio State was first to put up points after quarterback Dwayne Haskins threw a 16-yard pass to wide receiver Terry McLaurin for a touchdown.  The Buckeyes led the Wildcats 7-0.

Then, Northwestern running back John Moten IV ran 77 yards for goal, tying the game.

However, the Buckeyes didn’t let it remain a tie game for long. Running back J. K. Dobbins rushed two yards for goal.  The Buckeyes took back the lead 14-7 through the end of the first quarter.

Ohio State was the only team to score in the second quarter. Placekicker Blake Haubeil kicked a 42-yard field goal, then McLaurin scored a touchdown on a 42-yard pass from Haskins.  The Buckeyes led the Wildcats 24-7 at the half.

The Wildcats were first to score in the second half as quarterback Clayton Thorson ran 18 yards for a touchdown.  Then Northwestern scored another touchdown when tight end Cameron Green scored on a 2-yard pass from Thorson.  The score was 24-21.

However, the Buckeyes didn’t let the quarter end without putting up points. Haskins threw a 29-yard pass to wide receiver Chris Olave for goal.  Ohio State led Northwestern 31-21 at the end of the third quarter.

The Wildcats started off the fourth quarter strong as placekicker Charlie Kuhbander kicked a 21-yard field goal.

But, the Buckeyes quickly responded with a touchdown scored by wide receiver Johnnie Dixon, raising the score to 38-24.

Then Dobbins scored another touchdown for the Buckeyes, increasing their lead 45-24, which was the final score.

Ohio State entered the conference championship 11-1, and as a 15.5 point favorite against Northwestern (8-4), with hopes of claiming a spot in the four-team College Football Playoffs for the third time in the past five seasons.

Congratulations Ohio State on being the 2018 Big Ten Champions!

More on Ohio State football here.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.