Louisville’s Lamar Jackson wins Heisman Trophy

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Lamar Jackson of the Louisville Cardinals answers a question during a press conference prior to the 2016 Heisman Trophy Presentation at the Marriott Marquis on December 10, 2016 in New York City. (Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images)

Lamar Jackson, a sophomore quarterback at the University of Louisville, has won the Heisman Trophy, given to the most outstanding player in college football.

Jackson, who amassed 4,928 yards of total offense and 51 total touchdowns, is youngest player ever and the first player from Louisville to win the Heisman.

He is also the first player in major college football history with at least 3,300 passing yards and 1,500 rushing yards in a season.

Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson finished second in the Heisman voting, with 1,524 points. Jackson’s winning total was 2,144.

The other finalists were Oklahoma junior quarterback Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma senior wide receiver Dede Westbrook and Michigan junior linebacker Jabrill Peppers.

With a breakout performance in a 63-20 blowout against Florida State on September 17, Jackson became the early favorite to win the Heisman. In that game, Jackson ran for four touchdowns and threw for another one, compiling 146 yards rushing and 216 yards passing.