Nearly 14,000 runners compete in 13th annual Akron Marathon

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

AKRON - Nearly 14,000 runners competed in this year's 13th annual Akron Marathon on Saturday morning.

This year there was a new course and weather conditions were also ideal for early morning running.

**Check out drone video above of runners courtesy of Akron Buzz**

Teklu Deneke of Flagstaff, Ariz., won the full marathon with a time of 2:22:21, which was the first time in the history of the Akron Marathon that there has been a repeat winner.

The runner-up in the men’s full marathon was Peter Chebet of Hebron, Ky. and Mengistu Nebsi of New York, N.Y., crossed the finish line third.

Irina Alexandrova of Hebron, Ky., finished first with a time of 2:39:45, and Jackie Pirtle-Hall of St. Charles, Miss., came in second with a time of 2:48:33. Margie Atthow of Beaudesert, Australia, finished third with a time of 2:52:20.

Justin Winebrenner, an Akron police officer who was killed while off-duty in November 2014, was honored before the race began.

Winebrenner's daughter, Charlee, and his father, Rob Winebrenner, rang the bell to start the race to honor his memory.

Google Map for coordinates 41.081445 by -81.519005.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.