Browns release 53-player roster, terminate contracts of Burleson, Ogbonnaya

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CLEVELAND, Ohio — The Cleveland Browns have announced that they’ve readied their roster for the 2014 season opener by making 21 transactions to reduce their roster to 53 players.

According to a release issued by the Browns, the team terminated contracts of four veteran players including 12-year veteran, wide receiver Nate Burleson; linebackers Zac Diles and Jamal Westerman; and running back Chris Ogbonnaya.

Cornerback Isaiah Trufant was placed on injured reserve with a knee injury.

And 15 players were waived. They are: defensive backs Josh Aubrey and Leon McFadden, defensive linemen Calvin Barnett, Jacobbi McDaniel and Justin Staples; offensive linemen Reid Fragel, Garrett Gilkey, Donald Hawkins, Alex Parsons and Abasi Salimu; quarterback Connor Shaw; tight end/fullback MarQueis Gray; running back Dion Lewis; tight end Emmanuel Ogbuehi; and wide receiver Willie Snead.

The roster for the opener against the Pittsburgh Steelers is as follows:

–Quarterbacks: Brian Hoyer, Johnny Manziel, Rex Grossman.
–Running backs: Ben Tate, Terrance West, Isaiah Crowell.
–Fullback: Ray Agnew.
–Wide receivers: Miles Austin, Andrew Hawkins, Travis Benjamin, Taylor Gabriel, Charles Johnson.
–Tight ends: Jordan Cameron, Gary Barnidge, Jim Dray.
–Offensive linemen: Joe Thomas, Alex Mack, John Greco, Mitchell Schwartz, Joel Bitonio, Paul McQuistan, Martin Wallace, Karim Barton.
–Defensive linemen: Desmond Bryant, Armonty Bryant, John Hughes, Ishmaa’ily Kitchen, Phil Taylor, Billy Winn, Ahtyba Rubin.
–Linebackers: Karlos Dansby, Barkevious Mingo, Craig Robertson, Paul Kruger, Jabaal Sheard, Chris Kirksey, Tank Carder; Eric Martin.
–Defensive backs: Joe Haden, Buster Skrine, Justin Gilbert, Aaron Berry, Pierre Desir, Robert Nelson, K’Waun Williams, Donte Whitner, Tashaun Gipson, Jim Leonhard, Johnson Bademosi, Jordan Poyer.
–Kicker: Billy Cundiff.
–Punter: Spencer Lanning.
–Long snapper: Christian Yount.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.