My Town: Mentor Library to host Know Poe Festival

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Know Poe Festival (Courtesy: Mentor Public Library)

MENTOR, Ohio — The Mentor Public Library is introducing visitors to Edgar Allen Poe this July.

The Know Poe Festival will include a scary video contest, book discussions, an art clinic, writing workshop, film festival and a performance by a professional Edgar Allen Poe impersonator to celebrate the famed author.

Poe is most known for his work in the detective and horror genres.

Discussions will be held at the following locations:

  • Monday, July 7, 11 a.m. at Walsh Park
  • Tuesday, July 15, 11 a.m. at Melt Bar and Grilled
  • Monday, July 21, 7 p.m. at Mentor Public Library Main Branch
  • Tuesday, July 22, 2 p.m. at Mentor Beach Park
  • Tuesday, July 22, 7:30 p.m. at Yours Truly
  • Wednesday, July 23, 1:30 p.m. at Mentor Senior Center
  • Friday, July 25, 12 p.m. at the News Herald
  • Tuesday, July 29, 6:30p.m. at Mentor Public Library Main Branch
  • Wednesday, July 30, 6:30 p.m. at Mentor Public Library Main Branch
  • Thursday, July 31, 7 p.m. at Wildwood Cultural Center

 

Edgar Allen Poe books are available for free to participate in the discussions.

The deadline for the Know Poe video contest is July 1, and the Know Poe Film Festival is showing films at the following times:

  • Thursday, July 3, 7:00 p.m. The Pit and the Pendulum
  • Thursday, July 10, 7:00 p.m. The Raven
  • Thursday, July 17, 7:00 p.m. Tales of Terror
  • Thursday, July 24, 7:00 p.m. The Masque of the Red Death

 

The Mentor Public Library is hosting Know Poe events through the entire month of July. For more information about the Know Poe Festival and other events at the library, click here.

For a list of other summer events, click here.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.