Facebook Sends Reminder: Check Your Privacy Settings!

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Facebook has begun reminding users to check their privacy settings to avoid oversharing.

According to Huffington Post, some users on Wednesday began getting the following notification:

“Sorry to interrupt. You haven’t changed who can see your posts lately, so we just wanted to make sure you’re sharing this post with the right audience. (Your current setting is Public, though you can change this whenever you post.)”

After clicking a “learn more” link, users then are told they may be oversharing:

“Every time you post on Facebook you can decide who sees what you share. It looks like you haven’t changes who can see your posts in a while, so we’re just checking that your privacy is set the way you want it.”

Facebook users have the option — every time they post anything — to decide who to share posts with; whether they are public for the world to see or only shared with a private group, such as Facebook friends only.

For much more on this story, click here.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.