Some Ohio lawmakers want to put more driving restrictions on young, inexperienced drivers.
"I guarantee you one thing: this will save lives," Ohio Rep. Rick Perales (R-Beavercreek) said. Perales sponsored House Bill 204.
The bill passed a house committee on Tuesday.
The bill would only allow family members to ride with 16 and 17-year-old drivers, except in the case for one licensed passenger over age 21.
It would require anyone under 21 getting a driver’s license to attend driving school, and would move the driving curfew for juveniles up from midnight to 10 p.m.
"We have exemptions for if they are going to a school sponsored event," Perales said.
The bill text also shows an exemption for work.
"I don't think you should be really out that late driving with your friend if you are just partying, having fun," 18-year-old Matthew Thompson said.
"I think it's fine as long as they got someplace they supposed to be going instead of just out there on the streets," parent Dhaamin Muhammed Ali said.
But requiring driving school until age 21?
"Everybody can't afford to go to it. Like me, I got four teenage boys," Ali said.
Perales said the Senate could also make changes to the bill, if and when it passes by state representatives.