Ohio Lawmakers to Donate Paychecks During Shutdown

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
WASHINGTON (CNN) — While more than 800,000 federal workers, including some congressional staffers, are being furloughed during the government shutdown, members of Congress are still getting paid, as required by law.

But some members of the House and Senate — the very bodies that failed to prevent the shutdown — are giving away their salary in solidarity.

CNN reached out to all 533 current members of Congress about their paycheck plans.

As of Thursday at 2 p.m., the tally showed 31 senators are donating to charity or the Treasury Department, while four are not accepting a paycheck and two are undecided.

Two senators, Tom Coburn, R-Oklahoma and Chris Murphy, D-Connecticut, told CNN they plan to keep their salary.

On CNN’s Crossfire, Coburn said that he plans to keep his salary and “spend it and tithe it and give to it charities and do the things that I’ve always done.”

In the House, 45 representatives say they’re donating to charity or the Treasury, while 59 are not accepting a paycheck and one is undecided.

Six House members, however, say they’re keeping their salary — Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, D-Florida; Rep. Danny Davis, D-Illinois; Rep. Todd Rokita, R-Indiana; Rep. William ‘Lacy’ Clay, Jr., D-Missouri; Rep. Howard Coble, R-North Carolina; Rep. Susan Brooks, R-North Carolina.

The Ohio lawmakers listed as planning to donate were Sherrod Brown (D),  Steve Chabot (R), Brad Westrup (R), Bill Johnson (R) and David Joyce (R).

See the list, which will continue to be updated throughout the day:

Senate (donate):

Jeff Sessions, R-Alabama

Barbara Boxer, D-California

Dianne Feinstein, D-California

Mark Udall, D-Colorado

Michael Bennet, D-Colorado

Chris Coons, D-Delaware

Tom Carper, D-Delaware

Brian Schatz, D-Hawaii

Jim Risch, R-Idaho

Mike Crapo, R-Idaho

Joe Donnelly, D-Indiana

Mary Landrieu, D-Louisiana

Susan Collins, R-Maine

Elizabeth Warren, D-Massachusetts

Debbie Stabenow, D-Michigan

Amy Klobuchar, D-Minnesota

Claire McCaskill, D-Missouri

Jeanne Shaheen, D-New Hampshire

Kelly Ayotte, R-New Hampshire

Tom Udall, D-New Mexico

Heidi Heitkamp, D-North Dakota

John Hoeven, R-North Dakota

Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio

Sheldon Whitehouse, D-Rhode Island

Lindsey Graham, R-South Carolina

Bob Corker, R-Tennessee

Lamar Alexander, R- Tennessee

Orrin Hatch, R-Utah

Mike Lee, R-Utah

Mark Warner, Virginia

Michael Enzi, R-Wyoming

Senate (not accepting):

Angus King, I-Maine

Chuck Schumer, D-New York

Patrick Toomey, R-Pennsylvania

Jack Reed, D-Rhode Island

Ted Cruz, R-Texas

Bernie Sanders, I-Vermont

Tim Kaine, D-Virginia

Ron Johnson, R-Wisconsin

Senate (keeping):

Chris Murphy, D-Connecticut

Tom Coburn, R-Oklahoma

Senate (undecided):

Jeff Flake, R-Arizona

Roger Wicker, R-Mississippi

House (donate):

Ron Barber, R-Arizona

John Garamendi, D-California

David Valadao, R-California

Julia Brownley, D-California

Darrell Issa, R-California

Scott Peters, D-California

Rosa L. DeLauro, D-Connecticut

Jim Himes, D-Connecticut

Elizabeth Esty, D- Connecticut

John Carney, D-Delaware

Phil Gingrey, R-Georgia

Tulsi Gabbard, D-Hawaii

Brad Schneider, D-Illinois

Bill Foster, D-Illinois

William Enyart, D-Illinois

John A. Yarmuth, D-Kentucky

Andy Barr, R-Kentucky

Chellie Pingree, D-Maine

John Delaney, D-Maryland

Timothy J. Walz, D-Minnesota

Ann Wagner, R-Maryland

Michelle Lujan Grisham, D-New Mexico

Chris Collins, R-New York

David Price, D-North Carolina

Robert Pittenger, R-North Carolina

Steve Chabot, R-Ohio

Brad Westrup, R-Ohio

Bill Johnson, R-Ohio

David Joyce, R-Ohio

Kurt Schrader, D-Oregon

David Cicilline, D-Rhode Island

Diane Black, R-Tennessee

Bill Flores, R-Texas

Joaquin Castro, D-Texas

Pete Gallego, D-Texas

Filemon Vela, D-Texas

Robert J. Wittman, R-Virginia

Scott Rigell, R-Virginia

Suzan DelBene, D-Washington

Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Washington

Derek Kilmer, D-Washington

Shelley Moore Capito, R-West Virginia

Paul Ryan, R-Wisconsin

Thomas Petri, R-Wisconsin

Reid Ribble, R-Wisconsin

House (keeping):

Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, D-Florida

Rep. Danny Davis, D-Illinois

Rep. Todd Rokita, R-Indiana

Rep. William ‘Lacy’ Clay, Jr. D-Missouri

Rep. Howard Coble, R-North Carolina

Rep. Susan Brooks, R-North Carolina

House (not accepting):

Mike Rogers, R-Alabama

Spencer Bachus, R-Alabama

Don Young, R-Alaska

Ami Bera, D-California

Eric Swalwell, D-California

Jim Costa, D-California

Ed Royce, R-California

Steve Southerland, R-Florida

Ron DeSantis, R-Florida

Gus Bilrakis, R-Florida

Trey Radel, R-Florida

Jack Kingston, R-Georgia

Austin Scott, R-Georgia

Paul Broun, R-Georgia

John Barrow, D-Georgia

David Scott, D- Georgia

Tom Graves, R-Georgia

Raul Labrador, R-Idaho

Mike Simpson, R-Idaho

Randy Hultgren, R-Illinois

Cheri Bustos, D-Illinois

Marlin Stutzman, R-Indiana

Larry Bucshon, R-Indiana

Lynn Jenkins, R-Kansas

Dutch Ruppersberger, D-Maryland

Niki Tsongas, D-Massachusetts

John Tierney, D-Massachusetts

Gregg Harper, R-Mississippi

Jason Smith, R-Missouri

Steve Daines, R-Montana

Frank LoBiondo, R-New Jersey

Leonard Lance, R-New Jersey

Sean Patrick Maloney, D-New York

Tom Reed, R-New York

Virginia Foxx, R-North Carolina

Mark Meadows, R-North Carolina

Jim Bridenstine, R-Oklahoma

Mike Kelly, R-Pennsylvania

Keith Rothfus, R-Pennsylvania

Allyson Schwartz, D-Pennsylvania

Stephen Fincher, D-Tennessee

Ralph M. Hall, R-Texas

Randy Weber, R-Texas

Beto O’Rourke, D-Texas

Randy Neugebauer, R-Texas

Lamar Smith, R-Texas

Blake Farenthold, R-Texas

Jason Chaffetz, R-Utah

Jim Matheson, D-Utah

Randy Forbes, R-Virginia

Bob Goodlatte, R-Virginia

Eric Cantor, R-Virginia

Doc Hastings, R-Washington

Ron Kind, D-Wisconsin

House (undecided):

John Campbell, R-California

By Dan Merica, Ashley Killough, and Laura Koran


Comments are closed.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.