Champions Named in 11th Akron Marathon

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

AKRON, Ohio — Champions have been named in the 11th Akron Marathon.

The new marathon record-holder is Getachew Asfaw from Silver Springs, MD. He finished the race in 2 hours and 16 minutes.

The female marathon champion is Ludmila Stepanova, of Hebron, KY.

Race say 15,000 runners hit the pavement for the sold-out race, along with their families and other spectators.

The marathon got underway at 7 a.m. Saturday.

Preparations for the big race started at 6:30 p.m. Friday when police started shutting down several roads. The roads are expected to remain closed until Saturday afternoon.

*** Click here for a complete list of road closures ***

To read more about the Akron Marathon Click Here.