CLEVELAND -- Ohio will soon be the 39th state to ban texting while driving.
The Ohio bill that takes effect this Friday will outlaw texting for adults and drivers under 18, banning drivers from using any electronic device while behind the wheel.
Some drivers in northeast Ohio say they get worried when they see people texting while they are behind the wheel.
"I see it all the time everywhere when I’m driving it's really scary," says Gina Imbrigiotta of Brecksville.
The new law has two levels of enforcement, plus a six-month warning period for adults. After the six-month warning period, any motorists found texting and driving could get up to a $150 ticket plus any driver under the age of 18 caught texting and driving could get their license suspended up to 60 days on their first offense.
Daniel Cox, a driving instructor at the Heights Driving School on Wilson Mills Road for 28 years, explains the new state law.
"If you happen to be going down the road texting and a police officer sees it and you are doing nothing else wrong, they will not pull you over and give you a ticket for that. If you happen to be speeding and he or she saw you texting then they can give you two tickets--one for the speed and one for the texting."
Some motorists believe the new anti-text law is a move in the right direction which could help in avoiding accidents and keeping the roads safer.
"It's obviously very dangerous to have your concentration off the road, you are not just endangering yourself you are also endangering other people on the road. It's something I take very seriously and don't text while I'm driving," says Jennifer McIntyre of Richmond Heights.