Rock Hall Announces Additional 2012 Inductees

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CLEVELAND — The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum is adding six groups to its previously announced 2012 inductees, Fox 8 News reports.

The Blue Caps, the Comets, the Crickets, the Famous Flames, the Midnighters and the Miracles will be inducted in Cleveland on April 14 along with Beastie Boys, Donovan, Guns N’ Roses, Laura Nyro, Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Small Faces/The Faces, Freddie King, Don Kirshner, Cosimo Matassa, Tom Dowd and Glyn Johns.

The six additional groups are being recognized as a result of a special Rock Hall committee that identified situations in which groups should be recognized along with their already inducted lead singer (Gene Vincent, frontman for the Blue Caps, was inducted in 1998; Bill Haley, frontman for the Comets, was inducted in 1987; Buddy Holly, frontman for the Crickets, was inducted in 1986; James Brown, frontman for the Famous Flames, was inducted in 1986; Hank Ballard, frontman for the Midnighters, was inducted in 1990; and Smokey Robinson, frontman for the Miracles, was inducted in 1987).

“These inductees are pioneers in the development of the music we call rock ‘n’ roll,” said Joel Peresman, president and CEO of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “As part of our mission to recognize the most impactful, innovative and influential artists in rock, the committee brought forth these six groups that belong in the Hall of Fame.”

The 27th annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Saturday, April 14, 2012, in Cleveland. It will be open to the public.