A proposed law in New York aims to keep parents from leaving their kids in the car.
CBS New York reports that the New York state Senate just passed a new bill that would outlaw letting kids under the age of eight wait in the car without a guardian of at least age 12.
The bill’s sponsor says cars should never be used as babysitters.
Violators would be charged between $50 and $250.
Officials say it will prevent tragedies, but parents say they should be allowed to decide if their kids are safe.